A message from the Chair of the LHA Judging Panel

I am writing to you to let you know that in the light of the government’s most recent announcements about the management of the corona virus epidemic, the sponsors of the LHA have very reluctantly decided to postpone the 2020 awards until next year.

The awards have now been running for 20 years. They celebrate the innovation and commitment of all those working with homeless people in London and selecting the award winners has always involved high levels of personal contact between the judging panel, the applicant organisations and crucially their clients. We had initially thought that if necessary we might be able to conduct some of the process online but that now looks increasingly difficult and it seems unlikely we will be able to hold the awards ceremony itself.

Rather than compromise a tried and tested process or bring any health risks to all those involved, the sponsors have decided to postpone the 2020 Awards. We are also acutely aware that many of you who work with the homeless in London are very properly focused on blunting the effects of the virus and may well not be able to apply for the awards in the usual way.

We will launch a new awards programme next spring but in recognition of the 2020 postponement, in 2021 we hope to be able to expand the range of awards and increase the overall value of the cash prizes. We believe this would also be a great opportunity to specifically celebrate the work of the homelessness sector in managing the impacts of the epidemic.

I hope that potential applicants this year understand why we have come to this decision and we would urge you and all others working in this field to apply to us next year for what we confidently expect will culminate in the biggest and best awards ceremony of our 20 year history.

Simon Dow
London Housing Foundation
(Chair of the LHA Judging Panel)
13th May, 2020

lha 2019 logo

The London Homelessness Awards 2019 are now closed

30 organisations have entered the 2019 awards to win a share in the prize fund of £60,000.

The London Homelessness Awards are open to not-for-profit organisations based in London working in the field of homelessness including charities, registered social landlords, council departments, London NHS and health related organisations, voluntary and statutory organisations or a partnership of these agencies.

Read about last year’s winners HERE

Watch this space form details of our very special awards ceremony in October.

To register your interest in the 2020 awards please contact Cassandra Karanjia at Cassandra.karanjia@lhf.org.uk

THLA-Slider-logo Learn More See how the London Homelessness Awards
have helped past winners
Click Here

Celebrating London based projects that improve services to homeless people

The London Homelessness Awards are unique and recognise the creativity and imagination that agencies can bring to services for homeless people.

The awards are open to all projects in London working in the field of homelessness. This includes registered social landlords, local councils, NHS and health related organisations, voluntary organisations, or a partnership of any of these. The only stipulation is that your project must have been operating and delivering services for a minimum of six months.

Who can enter the awards?

Projects must be London-based and either improve services to homeless people, prevent homelessness or tackle disadvantage caused by homelessness.

Sponsors & Partners

Register your interest

for the London Homelessness Awards 2021

Winners and Commended Projects of 2019

£ 0
1st Prize
The Magpie Project
£ 0
2nd Prize
The Passage’s Anti-Slavery Project
£ 0
3rd Prize
North London Early Homelessness Prevention Service